11 in Winter 2011

Today is the first day of my last semester of undergrad and while I’m out there searching for a job and plotting my entry to the dreaded real world, it feels like a great time to do some hardcore goal-setting and life-planning.  Following in Angela over at ohsheglows’ lead, I’ve set myself 11 goals for Winter 2011.

1.)  Develop a sustainable exercise routine.
The specifics of this plan are that I intend to go to the gym some five times per week.  I plan to take two classes with friends and I’d like to make at least three solo expeditions.  I know that five a week seems like a lot, but I do feel a lot happier when I take the time to get some exercise in.
2.) Stick to a healthy, balanced diet.
My eating habits have gone to absolute shit since I started college, and working in food service certainly isn’t helping the matter.  So I’m going to work on it.  Nothing too restrictive or hardcore, because I’m prone to obsession, but 5 servings of fruits and vegetables and laying off the cheeseburgers seem like a good place to start.  I’m also looking to expand my eating horizons, if you will, and be more adventurous with food.
3.) Finish my senior honors thesis.
Here’s the plan: I have a rough rough rough draft/outline already completed and by the time midwinter break rolls around (the end of February), I’d like to have a completed draft.  From there, I’ll have a month to polish and perfect my final project.  (Which I’ll need to defend in April…egads!)
4.) Update my wardrobe/all my other stuff in preparation for being a real live grown up.
My wardrobe isn’t too terribly bad, but like all college students, I need to be mindful that one day it will be expected that I dress like an adult.  So I’ll be looking for affordable pieces to add to my wardrobe, in the hope of one day having an employment-ready closet.
5.) Graduate with honors.
My job as a student is to show up to every class, be prepared and participate willingly.  So I’m going to do just that.  No more sleeping in just because, and I am going to speak up at least once per class session.  (Maybe twice for some of my smaller classes.)  If I can get that down pat, the good grades should follow.
6.) Excel at my job.
I was recently promoted (more on that later) and I aspire to be decent at it.
7.) Qualify for nationals and finish in the top 4.
This is a fun piece of knowledge, but I’m a competitive pool player.  I’ve gone to Nationals the past two years and done steadily and steadily better, and this year, I’d like to qualify and place in the top four.
8.) Blog regularly and expand this particular network.
So far, I have no real plan on how to do this, but I appreciate any help you fine folks have to offer!
9.) Find a real job.
This is sort of like crawling uphill, given the economy and my choice of degrees, but I full intend to give it my absolute best efforts.  That means setting up an appointment at the career center, polishing my resume to high heaven and getting applications to just about every job under the sun.  It will probably be entirely exhausting and, at times, disheartening.  But I refuse to fester in post-graduate unemployment because I didn’t try hard enough.
10.) Make plans to build a real life.
Once again, this is a goal with no real plan.  Please help me, readership!
11.) Have fun.
I recently made a joke that I want my last semester of college to be like Asher Roth’s “I Love College”, but instead of smoking weed, we’ll throw in “finish my thesis.”  Actually, it’s not really a life-pertinent song at all, but it’s fun – and that’s the point.  This semester, I want to have fun and enjoy my friends’ company before we all have to go our separate ways.

What are your goals?

One response to “11 in Winter 2011

  1. I’m glad you’re going to blog more. 🙂 That’s always a start! The best blogging tip I can give is just to be open-minded and experiment with your own unique voice. Treat this as your playground, and just play around to find where you are most comfortable. A lot of bloggers try to follow the popular lead and do the “this is what I ate!” route, but it may not be the best for every blog….besides, the same thing always gets boring.

    And obviously, have FUN! Just as you listed as one of your goals, have fun with your blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

