Weighty Issues.

If I had started a blog at the beginning of my freshman year of college, I may have titled it something arrogant like “How to rock out in the Big Ten and avoid the Freshman 15.”  And this super arrogant title wouldn’t actually be a lie – because I do rock out in the Big Ten and I did, in fact, avoid the freshman fifteen.  It was the mysterious Sophomore/Junior 45 that really came back to bite me in the ass.  (Or, it may have been closer to the Mysterious 50…I’m pathologically opposed to the scale, so I have no way of knowing.)

Credit: Self.com

The numbers are neither here nor there.  (And out of respect for my good friends who struggle with numbers on the scale nearly every day of their lives, I’m not going to tell you.)  The point is that, after 3 year of excess everything-but-exercise, I wasn’t feeling too great about myself.  And my clothes didn’t fit.  It was truly unfortunate.

The summer after my junior year, I took charge with the classic “Eat Better, Exercise More” plan.  And it’s working!  To be honest, I was more surprised than anything else because when you get trapped in the mindset of not feeling too great about yourself, it’s hard to shake the funk, even if you’re doing everything you thought would fix it.  The good news is, now that I’m starting to see results (including, but by no means limited to a wonderfully fulfilling sense of accomplishment), it is getting progressively easier to shake the negative feelings.

The main tenets of the plan so far have been to: figure out what I eat (anything that was easy to acquire and eatable with one hand) and why I eat it (boredom, stress, as a social mechanism) and make appropriate changes (I realized that I don’t actually like french fries).  Then, I had to haul my ass out into the scary world that is the North Campus Recreation Building and move around some more.  And so far, so good.  I’m not going to end up being super athletic (running is still not my thing, okay?), nor will I ever be a model.  But I’m feeling a lot better about myself.

And my clothes actually fit.

Leave a Reply

